Mercator Blog

The blog post you are trying to reach is available to subscribed service members only.

Our subscribed members have access to blog posts that are exclusive to their service subscription.


If you are a subscribed member, please login or Contact Us if you would like access to exclusive members-only insights and information.

Commercial Payments and COVID-19
Date: Saturday, April 4, 2020
COVID-19 and Credit Products
Date: Thursday, April 2, 2020
COVID-19 and Debit and Alternative Payments Products
Date: Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Coronavirus Update: The Outlook for Payments
Date: Monday, March 23, 2020
COVID-19 and the Payments Industry
Date: Monday, March 16, 2020
Merchant Mobile Apps Drive Consumer Adoption and Engagement
Date: Friday, February 28, 2020
Credit Card Profits Are Back, but Issuers Must Protect Against the Inevitable Economic Shift
Date: Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Iot Payments, a Payment Mode Further Automating and Digitizing the Consumer Purchase Cycle
Date: Monday, January 27, 2020
Approaches and Priorities for Fighting Faster Payments Fraud
Date: Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Slow adoption of open banking vs. surge in API platforms operating in the cloud
Date: Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Program Innovations Keep Private Label Credit Cards Competitive in the Consumer Retail Marketplace
Date: Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Friendly Fraud Is Driving Increased Merchant Chargebacks
Date: Monday, December 23, 2019
Skirmish Between Banks and Fintechs over Financial Planning Apps
Date: Monday, December 16, 2019
Secure Remote Commerce (SRC) speeds online and mobile checkout while assuring greater security. Here’s how.
Date: Wednesday, December 4, 2019
The Enduring Use, for Now, of Cash and ATMs
Date: Friday, November 29, 2019
Tracking Down More Insight
Date: Friday, October 11, 2019
Decentralized ID and self-sovereign identity are in the works
Date: Friday, September 27, 2019
Merchant services for small businesses evolve beyond mobile point-of-sale payment acceptance
Date: Thursday, September 5, 2019
Commercial credit card spend in North American the mid-to-large corporate markets heads toward $1 trillion.
Date: Thursday, August 22, 2019
Distributed ID and Self-Sovereign Identity Are Years Away but Impact EMV 3D Secure Deployment Now
Date: Thursday, August 15, 2019
2019 a Breakout Year for U.S. Online Grocery Ordering
Date: Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Debit Card Issuers’ Search for the Most Motivating yet Cost-effective Loyalty Reward Options
Date: Tuesday, June 4, 2019
What Works and What Doesn’t Work in Merchants’ Customer Loyalty Programs
Date: Thursday, May 23, 2019
Emerging Technology Advisory Service Update - April 2019
Date: Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Credit Advisory Service Update - April 2019
Date: Monday, April 1, 2019
Every Credit Card Executive Needs to Know the Nuances of Asset-backed Securities
Date: Thursday, February 28, 2019
Competing Technology Crowds E-Commerce Security Market
Date: Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Banks Need to Prioritize Digital Infrastructure to Retain Corporate Clients and Compete in Coming Years
Date: Monday, February 4, 2019
Credit Cards - Slower Growth, Leaner Profits, and Higher Risks
Date: Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Security and Lack of Rewards Are Top Reasons That U.S. Consumers Do Not Use Debit Cards Online
Date: Friday, January 18, 2019
U.S. Consumers Report That Credit Cards Are Now Their Most Preferred Payment Type in Stores
Date: Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Debit and Prepaid Cards: Are There Any Remaining Differences?
Date: Monday, December 17, 2018
U.S. Auto Makers and Developers Are Just Starting Their Engines for Connected Car E-commerce
Date: Friday, December 14, 2018
25 Million Exceptions Is Not Bad Considering 66 Billion Credit Card Transactions Are Being Processed
Date: Friday, November 30, 2018
Placing Bets on the Long-term Role of ATMs
Date: Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Business-to-Business (B2B) Marketplaces Present New Opportunity for E-commerce
Date: Friday, November 16, 2018
Mobile Payment Adoption in U.S. Stalls With Half of Consumers Using Mobile Payments
Date: Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Prepaid Advisory Service Update - October 2018
Date: Tuesday, October 23, 2018
The Impact of Reduced Global Card Interchange Rates on Debit Cards
Date: Thursday, October 18, 2018
Commercial and Enterprise Payments Advisory Service Update - September 2018
Date: Friday, September 14, 2018
Survey Finds That Purchase of Virtual Prepaid Cards Delivered Digitally Remains Strong
Date: Friday, September 7, 2018
Digital Technologies Providing Tighter, More Seamless Connections in the Corporate Cash Cycle.
Date: Thursday, September 6, 2018
Debit and Alternative Products Advisory Service Update - September 2018
Date: Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Credit Advisory Service Update - August 2018
Date: Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Supply Chain Finance Continues to Expand With Modern Technology and Broadening Approaches by Fintechs
Date: Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Commercial and Enterprise Payments Advisory Service Update - June 2018
Date: Thursday, June 21, 2018
EMV QR Codes Could Solve the E-commerce Fraud Problem if Merchant Concerns Can Be Overcome
Date: Monday, June 18, 2018
Debit and Alternative Products Advisory Service Update - June 2018
Date: Thursday, June 14, 2018
Credit Advisory Service Update - June 2018
Date: Wednesday, June 6, 2018
U.S. Consumers Are More Likely to Save Up for Specific Goals
Date: Wednesday, May 23, 2018